Just Like Grandma

Copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Friday Fictioneers 28th January 2022

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting the Friday Fictioneers Challenge every week

This week thanks also to Rochelle who has shared with us this great photograph

First came a sound like a gunshot, then the restaurant’s exquisitely-decorated ceiling cracked and the entire place filled with smoke and shadows and screams. I trembled more than usual, unable to make out who was now beside me. I yelled “Don’t bother with me, I’m an old man” but no sound came.

I realised one of the shadows was supporting my frail body. “Remember what you used to tell me,” it said. “How you were brave because Grandma loved you. How Grandma protected you when the bombs kept dropping.”

I’d survived once again. This time my saviour was my daughter.

43 thoughts on “Just Like Grandma

Leave a comment